the-rosary-as meditative-prayer.jpg

The Rosary

Meditative Prayer


"The rosary is the book of the blind, where souls see and there enact the greatest drama of love the world has ever known; it is the book of the simple, which initiates them into mysteries and knowledge more satisfying than the education of other men; it is the book of the aged, whose eyes close upon the shadow of this world, and open on the substance of the next. The power of the rosary is beyond description."

-- Venerable Archbishop Fulton Sheen


Essentials of the Rosary

Sometimes called the "Bible on a String," the Rosary is a beautiful, ancient meditation of the Church dating back to the 13th century that uses beads to help count out prayers including the Our Father and Hail Mary. The required prayers involved in reciting the rosary are the: 1) Our Father, 2) Hail Mary, 3) Apostle's Creed, 4) Glory Be, and 5) Hail Holy Queen. Many also include the Fatima Prayer between decades. All prayers are either scripturally or thematically based. Additionally, the rosary is divided into decades or groups of ten prayers. Each decade is dedicated to a mystery of the life of Jesus. There are 4 groups of mysteries: 1) Joyful, 2) Glorious, 3) Sorrowful, and 4) Luminous.  Use the button below to get more detailed information on how to pray the rosary.


The Divine Mercy Chaplet

Another powerful prayer that can be said using rosary beads is the Divine Mercy Chaplet. The image below shows how to pray the chaplet:

For more information on this powerful prayer and its history please visit:

... The prayer of the righteous is powerful and effective.   James 5:16

The Mysteries of the Rosary

The Joyful Mysteries

The Sorrowful Mysteries

The Glorious Mysteries

The Luminous Mysteries